Needing Prayer

 

So lately, I’ve been struggling with understanding wrong from right when coming to grace and law. 

I’ve grown up listening to my family talk about how much they love Joseph Prince. When you’re raised in that, that’s just kind of what you take a liking to as well. He wrote a book awhile back called Destined To Reign, and we all loved it. It spoke to my grandparents so much that they bought close to a hundred copies and gave them to people they thought needed them. The people that received them all agreed it was an eye opening book and were just as moved by it. This book talks about the law being fulfilled on the cross when Christ died, and the grace poured out on us when we accept Him as our savior. We bought all his tapes and CD’s, watched his shows, ect. I mean, we really loved the guy. 

This is when I began getting confused. I read a post someone made awhile back about how Joseph was a false preacher. I thought, “There’s always going to be someone that disagrees with every preacher out there.” I read more online and some compared him to Joel Osteen, another controversial false teacher. Joseph preaches strictly on grace, while many others preach mixed messages, or according to the law. It’s not just “feel good” sermons, I feel like it really is more than that. He backs up what he says with verses, but so many people will find a verse that contradicts the one he used. If I worded that right? I apologize if that doesn’t make sense, it’s one of those situations where I’m not sure how exactly to put it. I don’t want to encourage people to read his books and listen to his teachings if they’re false. I don’t want people to get the wrong idea about grace, but I don’t want them getting the wrong idea about the law. 

Hear me clearly on this one, I really want to make my days count. I want to live a sincere life that serves God. I don’t want to waste time, and I don’t want to life a false life because I’m listening to the wrong kind of sermons. God doesn’t want me feeling confused, and that I am sure of. So while I’m praying for myself, I’m asking that you pray for me as well. Pray that God gives me understanding for what it is He wants me to hear, and leads me in the life He wants me to live. Thank you!

15 thoughts on “Needing Prayer

  1. Happy to pray for you but there is really no wrong kind of sermon. There is only a wrong reaction to what you hear and a blind acceptance of it, without consideration.

  2. I will be praying for you. I pray you find your relationship stronger with your savior as you seek for HIM. God will give you wisdom. The Law shows me how bad I am and that I can’t get to God by working. Grace is God doing ALL the work to bring me to Him like I am. Laws give us guidelines of how to live but Grace gives us peace because God works through us for good. I think both have a very important place in our lives. It’s not one with out the other. God will give you wisdom to find YOUR close relationship with HIMSELF. Joseph Prince is a good teacher. But so are many others. But don’t follow the man. Take what God gives you peace with and if you have no peace then leave it. Find peace in His word. I’m praying God will speak to you personally .

  3. Sarah, ask God for wisdom and he will give it to you. We first need to be God pleasers rather than man pleasers. It is easy to get confused, when listening to other people, as they all have opinions. Jesus our Lord and Savior had many detractors and they ended up killing him. But God had a plan. We as Christians have Holy Spirit living inside of us and he leads us into all truth. Quiet your soul and ask him to show you the truth. You can never go wrong when you rely on him.

  4. I will pray for you (and for myself) to better understand the concept of grace and law.
    I think the “Letter of the Law” and the “Spirit of the Law” (law and grace) are not opposite. They flow constantly in and out one another. Like two eyes with which we see, we need both. One “eye”, (the Letter of the Law) guides us to see God’s holy and perfect standard, we see how things ought to be and understand how far we are from that. With the other “eye” (the Spirit of the Law) we see why He puts those laws into place. We get to glimpse a little into His gracious character, why He requires us to do certain things and how much He loves us.
    I think with both “eyes” intact and working together, we strive to see how we can love God and love others.
    Both grace and law were poured out in their fullest in Christ. If you like, we “see” both come perfectly together in the Gospel.

  5. many people have one time or another struggled with Law vs Grace…Jesus fulfilled the law and we who accept Him are no longer under the law but we are under Grace…My prayer for you is as you seek Jesus He will reveal more to you. I remember when I had questions about the Trinity and I could not explain it but now after years of being saved I don’t have those questions anymore about the Trinity I know the truth…And the Lord helped me and He will help you. God bless you

  6. I understand what you mean. I don’t know who Joseph Prince is, but I’ve followed an author before, recommended to some friends, and found out later some of this person’s beliefs were not in line with Scripture. It can be difficult to discern sometimes if what an author or preacher speaks about publicly matches their personal life. That can be true for bloggers too. I like how the Christians in Berea approached it, “… they received the word with all eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see if these things were so.” (Acts 17:11), and this was referring to Paul’s preaching!

  7. I agree with all of the above. What I have found to be helpful to me is that I seek first the LORD, reading, praying and meditating on scripture and then match up what the person is saying with the Word. When we are filled with the Word of the LORD, when preachers say certain things, I find the Holy Spirit raises a red flag if it doesn’t line up with scripture. Discernment that the LORD gives via the Holy Spirit will help weed out false teachers. I get an uneasy, peaceless feeling when things don’t match the Word. Be a student of the Word and then you will be able to determine if it matches. I will be praying for you.

  8. Hi new friend…loving your blog & the words that you are sharing with us. xo

    In the past, I’ve made the mistake of taking on other’s opinions of pastors, authors and such…and ignoring what I felt when I would listen. Even if I was totally rocked by the Spirit, doubt would creep in through a close friends comment, and then I would start to question if I was being deceived. The Holy Spirit taught me this…that He has placed within us discernment…to be able to perceive if someone is speaking from Abba’s heart or the enemy. The Holy Spirit will bear witness to us…to warn, to caution, or to proceed. He’s the best advice giver. Not everyone is moved by the same message…and that may just mean that it’s not for them.

    Love how you bear your heart!

Leave a Reply

