This World Has Nothing

I had another topic in mind for this post, but I really felt God leading me to talk about worldly things. First off, when I say ‘worldly’, I mean things of this world, “stuff”, ect. This is something I’ve always struggled with, and I believe we all have at some point. It’s so easy to get caught up in society. We focus so much on what we want, want, want, rather than what we need… which is more of Jesus. 

The Bible say in 1 John 2:15-17, Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.

That’s a tough verse to take in, what a challenge. God wants us to want Him, not worldly things. We can gain the whole world, but if we don’t have Jesus, what do we really have? At the end of the day our salvation determines what we really have. I could have millions of dollars, live in a mansion, be famous, drive a nice car, I could have all the worldly things, but if I didn’t have Jesus, when my life came to an end, I’d have nothing but a burning pit in Hell. The world has literally nothing for us, this isn’t our home. Consider this life a test, because in a way it is. Heaven or Hell is our home, the life we live now just determines where we’ll go. We’re really here to save as many people as we can. Our main mission is to minister and witness to those without Christ, and those with as well.

Romans 12:2 tells us, Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. I love this because it’s so straight forward. Don’t be conformed, but be transformed. The way I take that, is don’t let the world change you, but rather let Christ change you. As we let God change our minds and hearts, we stop craving the worldly desires like sex, alcohol, drugs, ect. We crave Jesus and not the world. 

The book of Amos is about caring for those that are poor and weak. Amos told the leaders and the rich of his time that God wasn’t pleased with their self-obsession. We can’t live immoral and greedy lives so life is comfortable for us. We’re on God’s time, we have to use the days here on earth to love, be kind, and show other’s God through ourselves. 

Colossians 3:2 Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. 

We have to walk on the edge of this world, not of it. We have to love and be God fearing. 

5 thoughts on “This World Has Nothing

  1. Great reminder. It’s easy to get caught up in the “stuff,” believing that I *need* it!

    I struggle with a desire for a smart phone at the moment…everyone has them, and they have the Internet at their fingertips wherever they are. I have a simple flip-phone…can’t even get pictures, and pay by the minute. The thing is, most of the time I don’t even know where it is, and 200 minutes last me nearly six months. Do I *need* the “thing?” Hardly. Yet, I covet them. 😦 Lord, help me!

    The “shoes of the preparation of the gospel of peace” remind me of mucking boots. You have to walk there, but don’t have to let the crud soil your feet!

    May the Lord’s face shine brightly upon you today!

    \o/
    Praise Jesus

    • No matter how much we have, we’re always going to want something else. You’re not alone! God is the only thing we really need. It’s so simple yet we complicate it. God bless you! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

