Living For Today

Living for today has been another thing heavy on my heart lately. I’d like to share my mind set and how I tend to think on a daily basis. I can’t say that my way of living is the same as yours, and I may just be spitballing when I say I think you can all relate to this in some way. I can’t say for a fact that this will be organized either, but merely me spilling my thoughts into paragraphs.

For quite some time now I’ve pictured myself graduating, going to a college near by for a year, and then moving from Indiana to Kentucky to be a dental assistant. I’ve always pictured myself marrying a pastor and being a preacher’s wife. We’d go into poverty struck countries to do mission work, and build friendships with people on the other side of the world. The two of us would live a halcyon lifestyle, caring only for the salvation of others. We’d pray together, and we’d stay together. I picture my future spouse and I having a Bible study together with a group of children in Africa. Singing their songs of praise in the early morning, teaching them just as much as they teach us. Sitting together on the red sand talking about Jesus, because that’s just what love is about. Loving God, loving His people. Telling these kids so filled with life that their Maker loves them, that there’s hope, and they have a reason to live. I can’t think of anything more beautiful. 

I want to spend nights staying up late because I can’t put down a good book. I want to plant a garden and then pick all the flowers for my hair.  I want to be inspired, and changed, and ennobled. I want Jesus to be the center of my life. I want to want more of Christ. There’s so much I want out of life, but it’s so important that we remember why we’re here. We’re here to be disciples of all nations, imitators of God, lovers of all people.

I hate that there’s been times in life that I’ve doubted God, but haven’t we all? I get so lost sometimes. I’m this naive little girl that doesn’t always see the troubled world. I forget life doesn’t go as planned all the time. I make all of these plans without thinking of the ones God carefully planned for me. I’m too busy planning tomorrow that I miss the bird building a nest outside my window today. I pull out of my driveway thinking about the yard I’ll have someday, and I miss the beauty of the changing trees in the yard I have now. I think about the future I have planned for myself and question if any of these things are what God has in store. 

One of my all time favorite women in history is Audrey Hepburn. She says, “Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present, and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.”

And even better, Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” So why do we worry so much about our future when God tells us His plans? God’s going to call each of us to our best possible life, the life that He planned. I encourage all of you to join me in really seeking Him, and praying that although we have self will, that we’ll use it to do what He’s called us to do.

2 thoughts on “Living For Today

Leave a Reply

