Keeping Firm Faith

Hello again, friends. Recently, someone asked me how I stayed firm in my faith. They asked if I ever had doubts. Not only am I writing this for her, but I’m hoping the rest of you reading can benefit. As humans, we’re going to have doubts. There will be times when we’re all tempted by doubt in some form, and that doesn’t make you any less of a Christian. Really, I think doubts build faith. Honest doubt means we’re looking for an answer, or seeking to understand this awesome God we have.

  1. Prayer – One of the biggest changes I’ve seen in my faith have been caused by prayer. I started praying more, and giving God more than just the twenty minutes of “before bed” prayer I had been giving Him for so long. The kind of prayer where you’re half awake, half asleep, praying unorganized thoughts and drifting in and out of sleep. I’d pray in the shower, thank God for a new day, and pray for the day before me. Before I leave the house for school, I usually struggle to be on time. I’m not a morning person, and I hit snooze one too many times. I find myself throwing on clothes, frantically trying to find my other shoe, or a book I can’t leave without. I started praying in those situations of desperation. I kid you not, God so often reveals to me what I’m looking for before I even finish my prayer. I began praying at school, I’d look around the room and pray for each person. So on and so forth, I furthered my time spent in prayer. I felt God so much more than before, leading me to realize how crucial prayer is in a relationship with Him.
  2. Recognizing His Creations – It’s quite obvious how complex life is. In Genesis we learn of God’s creations. The Lord created Heaven and earth, water, ground, light, darkness, animals, humans, all life. Here’s a few facts to put you even more in awe of God’s works: In 24 hours your heart beats103,689 times, your blood travels 168,000,000 miles, and you exercise 7,000,000 brain cells. Snakes are immune to their own poison. Your average elm tree has approximately 6 million leaves on it. Camels have three eyelids to protect their eyes from blowing sand. Your heart generates enough pressure as it pumps blood through your body that it could squirt blood up to 30 feet. “Have you ever thought about how diverse and creative God is? He didn’t have to make hundred of different kinds of bananas, but He did. He didn’t have to put 3,000 different species of trees within one square mile in the Amazon jungle, but He did. God didn’t have to create so many kinds of laughter.” – Francis Chan
  3. Scripture – I know that to most of you, reading the Bible is a given. I know to others of you, it’s a struggle that is easy to put off. To so many people, myself included, the Bible is a hard book to understand. I’ve found that praying for understanding before I read helps. If you come across a chapter you don’t understand, sometimes looking online can be helpful. There are many Christian bloggers that explain different parts of the Bible. If you’re having a difficult time getting the gist of a chapter, a lot of newer Bibles have little notes off to the side to help you. I like to recommend the God Girl Bible to young women, I love it! If I’m not mistaking I believe the same company makes one for younger men as well. If you have a Christian book store near by, try asking someone who works there to recommend a Bible that would be best for you! 
  4. Resistance – Replace the things in your life that tempt or distract you with Godly things.  For example, get rid of Wiz Khalifa, Mac Miller, ect. and replace it with Christian music. And you might say, “I can’t, I love rap too much.” Well great! There are plenty of Christian rappers. (Lecrae, Andy Mineo, Tedashii) If explicit music is all you’re listening to, explicit thoughts will consume you. Instead of R rated movies, try a Christian movie. Believe it or not, there’s so many Godly movies that could spark anyone’s interest. Documentaries, comedies, action films, ect. Look on Netflix, at the library, online, or at a Christian book store. The possibilities are endless! Bottom line is, start replacing the things that tear you away from God, with things that draw you closer to Him.

Hebrews 12:1-4 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted. In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.”

 

Thank you for reading, if you have any questions, email me at sarawhitesell@rocketmail.com. I’d love to help you figure out what Bible, music artist, movie, ect. would be in your best interest. Let me know what you thought, I enjoy your feedback. God bless. 

2 thoughts on “Keeping Firm Faith

  1. Just the points you made in the “Resistance” section would go a long way in making a difference. The old acronym, “GIGO” still holds true…if we put Garbage In, we have to expect to get Garbage Out. The Bible puts it another way, “Whatsoever a man sows, that will he also reap.”

    We decided to disconnect from cable/satellite (good for us – not a call for anyone else to do likewise!); which made a huge difference in many areas of our lives: contentment, decrease in materialism, fewer “cute” sitcom slams to play with, and friends to replace TV time. I’m glad we made that choice. 🙂

    \o/

    • Thanks for sharing! That’s so neat, there’s an abundance of truth in that. And as for you giving up TV, it goes to show how serious you are about putting God first, and I know He’s proud of you guys.

Leave a Reply

