Troubled Hearts

I’m becoming more and more familiar with brokenness and rock bottom living. Although I struggle, I myself am not going through this, but as I carry the burden of every other troubled heart I see, I feel the weight. I’ve never experienced the Holy Spirit like this. I have, but not to this extent. I’m catching glimpses of broken hearts and weary souls in every direction, and it hurts even more knowing that I don’t even know half of what some of these people are going through. I sing, “Break my heart for what breaks Yours.” I ask God to set me on fire, to make me want to move. And then I’m taken aback as He does, as if I didn’t expect it.

I watch the man in front of me fret over his financial needs. How can your heart not hurt? Poverty stricken people consumed by the fear that they may not be able to provide for themselves or their family, while I blow money on anything and everything.

I see women run to men, men to women, taking whatever they can get just to feel something along the lines of love. They chase the hearts of anybody willing to give them the time of day, not knowing that God is the purest form of love.

I see hurt in it’s rawest form far too much. Everywhere I go it’s empty wallets, bruised bodies and untold stories. Cardboard signs on street corners, harsh words and crying eyes. These people are you and I, they’re our neighbors and our classmates. These precious lives don’t always know about Jesus. We pamper ourselves while our brothers and sisters in other countries drink toxic water and eat rice for every meal.

These people, these hearts… they need Jesus. They need truth and fulfillment. If we have Jesus, then we know where we’re going if something happens to us. If we starve, if we’re persecuted, if we die from disease. We’re going to Heaven. But so many of these other lives? They haven’t heard of Jesus. They don’t know what life is, or how love feels.

Matthew 5:14-16:

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in Heaven.”

Leave a Reply

