Beauty & Worth Applies To You

I’m sitting here in the quiet of my own bedroom, staring at a blank screen, knowing that the whirlwind of thoughts in my head are about to spill out in some way. I’ve got a Bible on my lap, and a desire to have my cup refilled and overflowing. 

This message goes out to everyone, not just the so-called humanity fearing outcasts, not just the tired, weary and broken, but literally everyone. Wether you’re 10 or 100, or some number in between, beauty and worth applies to you. “The Lord your God is with you. He is a hero who saves you. He happily rejoices over you, renews you with His love, and celebrates over you with shouts of joy.” Zeph. 3:17

I’m worn out and exhausted by the pressure to look right, talk correctly and dress according to Vogue. Society says, “Praise Adam Levine.” Music is telling us sex, drugs and applause should be chased after. But God tells us in Jeremiah 1:4-5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.” He set us apart. He set me apart. He set you apart. He set apart your neighbor, your doctor, everyone. How beautiful is that? He made each person out of the 7 billion alive, different in more ways than imaginable.  Embrace who you are, guys. Be all that God created you to be. He only made one fearfully and wonderfully made you. 

Just because you weigh more than the person standing next to you in line at the grocery store, doesn’t make you any less beautiful. Your GPA, your muscle mass, the number of people that showed up at your birthday party last weekend. None of that makes up your worth or your character. When you get to the kingdom of Heaven, God isn’t going to say, “Sorry, I can’t let you in. You got a D in English your junior year.” He won’t say, “No, you can’t come in because you’re twenty pounds over the average weight limit for your age.” Zephaniah 3:19 says, “At that time, I will deal with all who have overpowered you. I will rescue those who are lame. I will gather those who have been scattered…” and continues on to verse 20 to say, “Yes at that time I will gather you together. I will make you famous and praised among all the people of the earth when I restore your fortunes right before your eyes,” says the Lord. 

It doesn’t matter how many times you’ve popped a pill you know you shouldn’t have, partied and then went to church and pretended to be interested, or anything even remotely along those lines. The blood of Jesus washes away the sin, making you pure and beautiful and holy again. His sacrifice is what fills you full of worth and beauty. “By one sacrifice He has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.” Hebrews 10:14. You can never fall too far for Jesus and His cross to catch you. God spoke so much worth and potential into your life long before anyone even knew you. You are so, so loved. You have so much to give the world and all of the hearts in it. These hearts hear the world shouting profanity and lies. Speak God’s truth to them, and save them from all of this first world headache. The standards we’re told we have to live up to are man’s standards. And I kid you not, fifteen seconds after typing that last sentence about man’s standards, I picked up my Bible and the first thing I read was “Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7 Wow,  I’m in awe. God is good, isn’t He? I’m constantly finding Him hand picking verses to speak to me through. 

If you’re struggling, let me pray for you:

Lord, I thank You for this reader. Wherever they may be God, I just ask that you speak to them right now. Lay Your hands on them and give them peace and contentment with who You’ve made them to be. Give them Your eyes to see their beauty and worth in You. We thank You for Your sacrifice and the love and grace we’re continuously shown, Father. In Your Holy Name we pray, Amen. 

 

By the grace of God, I am what I am.” 1 Corinthians 15:10

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty & Worth Applies To You

Leave a Reply

