An Undying Passion

Day after day, I write about the same thing, the same people, the same love. Africa, the homeless, the poverty-stricken, the sick, the dying. But let me tell you, God has set this undying passion for His people and His children and His land inside of me for a reason. I’ve never wanted anything so much, every hour of every day it seems that Africa is on my heart. I genuinely crave it with a passion much too large for this heart of mine to contain. I delight in knowing that the passion and love I feel isn’t something I mustered up myself, but rather it was God given. Falling in love with Jesus sure brought the change in me, and as I sit here basking in His glory, my heart hurts at the thought of someone else missing out on the same transformation because they’ve never heard of Him and the grace He offers so freely. Who will tell them? Who will hold them, and sing to them and clean up their scraped knee? Oh I pray it’s me, someday. Isaiah 6:8 says, “Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to these people? Who will go?” I said, “Here I am. Send me.” And that’s exactly my prayer, that God would send me to the nations. I said, “Lord, send me. Please, send me.” I pleaded every night for who knows how many months, and because we serve such a gracious God, He honored my willing heart. So off I go, to dance on red soil, and share Jesus with every soul I can. No, I’m not afraid, in fact there’s not a bit of fear in me. If something happens to me, I die knowing Christ. I’m afraid for the children sleeping in puddles, afraid that they’ll go unnoticed. I’m afraid for the women that give up their bodies and are robbed of joy and innocence, hoping that it will buy them one more day. All the while, I’m overcome with joy at the thought of infectious laughter and new hands to hold. I get shivers just thinking about the opportunity I’ve been blessed with, to love on children who don’t know much love otherwise. I’m in it for the people, so that they know a Love much greater is waiting on them and that because they were bought with a price, they are such a treasure. Oh boy am I in, I am so in. I don’t want Africa for the vacation; I want it for the sick children with the runny noses. I want it for the ones dying on the dirty streets without knowledge of Jesus’ saving grace. I want to be scarred, yet deeply humbled by the lives people live without treated water and sewerage and electricity. I see those children in pictures with flies on their open sores, nothing but skin and bones, yet bloated stomachs sticking out so far they can’t even see their little feet. Meanwhile, I also see a God so powerful and so willing to bring hope to those lives that more than anything I want to be a part of the change I know He’s bringing. How humbling that will be. 

“Whatever you want others to do for you, do so for them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” Matthew 7:12 There are people in need all over. If you were in the shoes of one struggling, wouldn’t you “want the shirt off of someone’s back”? Yes, you’d want to be shown love and compassion and companionship, so give love and compassion and companionship. 

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34 This speaks for itself, just love people. Remind yourself, “God loves this person, God values this person. He wants me to do the same.” Love them as He loved us, and He loves us a LOT. Jesus took the ultimate sacrifice when receiving death on the cross, if that’s not love I don’t know what is. Be willing to sacrifice as Jesus sacrificed for those that don’t yet know Him. He didn’t say, “Love one another, unless it means giving all you have.”

My friends, give. Give selflessly. Give financially, open up your home, give prayer, just give love in all the ways you can. God meets our needs as we meet the needs of others.

One thought on “An Undying Passion

Leave a Reply

